Colleges & Universities
Academic Program Search
Postsecondary Career Schools
News Room
Out-Of-State Online Registration
Related Links
State Statutes & Legislative Updates
Student Transcripts

  Colleges & Universities

  Accreditation is one process used by the American higher education system to access and scrutinize the
  quality of institutions of higher education. There are two types of institutional accreditation: regional
  and national. Institutions with regional accreditation are nearly all degree-granting and non-profit. There
  are six regional accrediting organizations across the United States that assess and monitor institutions in
  their geographical area. National accrediting organizations, on the other hand, accredit both degree-granting
  and non-degree-granting (career schools, for example) institutions. Additionally, many institutions with
  national accreditation are for-profit. National acceditors are not traditionally limited by geographic area,
  and have members spread across the country.

  The United States Department of Education (USDOE) and Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)
  recognize certain accrediting organizations and accept those organizations as sufficient for institutional
  oversight. The USDOE recognizes accrediting organizations in accordance with federal law and regulations. 
  Institutions must be accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the USDOE in order to offer
  federal financial aid to students; those not accreditd by a USDOE-recognized accreditor cannot participate
  in federal aid programs.

  Regarding the transfer of credits, it is up to each institution to decide what to accept. However,
  as a general rule, regionally-accredited institutions do not accept credits from nationally- or
  non-accredited institutions.

  Regional and national accreditation focuses on the institution as a whole, and does not look at individual
  programs. In some cases, a program within an institutions may be accredited by a specialized accreditor
  in a particular field. This is not required, however, and varies widely from institution to institution. Specialized
  accreditors only examine a particular program and have no bearing on the quality of the institution as a whole.

  For more information, see USDOE's page on accreditation.

  Independent Institutions


  In-state, regionally-accredited, non-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  New Haven Programs  
  New London Programs  
  Fairfield Programs  
  East Hartford Programs  
  Hartford Programs  
  Cromwell Programs  
  New London Programs  
  Hamden Programs  
  Fairfield Programs  
  Hartford Programs  
  Bridgeport Programs  
  West Hartford Programs  
  West Haven Programs  
  West Hartford Programs  
  Middletown Programs  
  New Haven Programs  

  Other in-state, non-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Bethany Programs  
  Cheshire Programs  

  In-state, regionally-accredited, for-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Waterbury Programs  

  In-state, nationally-accredited, for-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Hamden Programs  

  Out-of-state, regionally-accredited, non-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Providence, RI Programs  
  Troy, NY Programs  
  Hoboken, NJ Programs  
  Danbury, CT Programs  
  Williamstown, MA Programs  
  Worcester, MA Programs  

  College Certificate Programs licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Bloomfield Programs  

  State-Supported Institutions

  University of Connecticut - Hartford Campus     Hartford Programs  
  University of Connecticut - Waterbury Campus     Waterbury Programs  
  University of Connecticut – Main Campus     Storrs Programs  
       Avery Point  
       Health Center  
       School of Law  

          Connecticut State Universities

       Central Connecticut State University New Britain Programs  
       Eastern Connecticut State University Willimantic Programs  
       Southern Connecticut State University New Haven Programs  
       Western Connecticut State University Danbury Programs  

          Connecticut Community Colleges

       Asnuntuck Community College Enfield Programs  
       Capital Community College Hartford Programs  
       Gateway Community College New Haven Programs  
       Housatonic Community College Bridgeport Programs  
       Manchester Community College Manchester Programs  
       Middlesex Community College Middletown Programs  
       Naugatuck Valley Community College Waterbury Programs  
       Northwestern Connecticut Community College Winsted Programs  
       Norwalk Community College Norwalk Programs  
       Quinebaug Valley Community College Danielson Programs  
       Three Rivers Community College Norwich Programs  
       Tunxis Community College Farmington Programs  
  New Britain Programs  

  Federally-Supported Institution 

  New London Programs  

  Institutions Participating in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

  A list of institutions participating in SARA is available here. Below are non-participating institutions
  that have registered to offer distance education degree programs in Connecticut.

  Out-of-State Institutions Registered in Connecticut to offer Online Instruction

Academy of Art University
Biola University
Boston University
UMASS Global
California Cost University
California Institute of Integral Studies
California Intercontinental University
California Southern University 
Concordia University Irvine
Claremont College
Devry University
Fuller Theological Seminary
Golden Gate University
Los Angeles Film School
Mount Saint Mary's University (Approved through June 30, 2020)
National University
Northcentral University
Pacific College of Health and Science
Samuel Merritt University
San Jose State University
Saybrook University
The Chicago School
The Taft University
United States University
University of California Berkeley
University of California, Davis
University of San Diego
Walden University
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 707, Hartford, CT  06103-1841, Phone:  860-947-1800
Home | Home | Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - 2015 State of Connecticut logo