Academic Program Search
Colleges & Universities
Postsecondary Career Schools
News Room
Out-Of-State Online Registration
Related Links
State Statutes & Legislative Updates
Student Transcripts

  Colleges & Universities

   A word about accreditation…


   Accreditation is one process used by the American higher education system to assess and scrutinize the quality of

   institutions of higher education. There are two types of institutional accreditation:  regional and national. Institutions

   with regional accreditation are nearly all degree-granting and non-profit.  There are six regional accrediting

   organizations across the United States that assess and monitor institutions in their geographical area. National

   accrediting organizations, on the other hand, accredit both degree-granting and non-degree-granting (career schools,

   for example) institutions. Additionally, many institutions with national accreditation are for-profit. National accreditors

   are not traditionally limited by geographic area, and have members spread across the country. 


   The United States Department of Education (USDOE) and Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) recognize

   certain accrediting organizations and accept those organizations as sufficient for institutional oversight. The USDOE

   recognizes accrediting organizations in accordance with federal law and regulations.  Institutions must be accredited by

   an accrediting organization recognized by the USDOE in order to offer federal financial aid to students; those not

   accredited by a USDOE-recognized accreditor cannot participate in federal aid programs.


   Regarding the transfer of credits, it is up to each institution to decide what to accept.  However, as a general

   rule, regionally-accredited institutions do not accept credits from nationally- or non-accredited institutions.


   Regional and national accreditation focuses on the institution as a whole, and does not look at individual programs.

   In some cases, a program within an institution may be accredited by a specialized accreditor in a particular field. This is

   not required, however, and varies widely from institution to institution. Specialized accreditors only examine a particular

   program and have no bearing on the quality of the institution as a whole.


   For more information, see the USDOE’s page on accreditation.



  Independent Institutions

  In-state, regionally-accredited, non-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut 

  New Haven Programs  
  New London Programs  
  Fairfield Programs  
  East Hartford Programs  
  Hartford Programs  
  Cromwell Programs  
  New London Programs  
  Hamden Programs  
  Fairfield Programs  
  Bridgeport Programs  
  Hartford Programs  
  Bridgeport Programs  
  West Hartford Programs  
  West Haven Programs  
  West Hartford Programs  
  Middletown Programs  
  New Haven Programs  

  Other in-state, non-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Bethany Programs  
  Cheshire Programs  

  In-state, regionally-accredited, for-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Southington Programs  
  Waterbury Programs  

  In-state, nationally-accredited, for-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Hamden Programs  

  Out-of-state, regionally-accredited, non-profit institutions licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Providence, RI Programs  
  Daytona Beach, FL Programs  
  Troy, NY Programs  
  Carbondale, IL Programs  
  Jamaica, NY Programs  
  Hoboken, NJ Programs  
  Danbury, NY Programs  
  Williamstown, MA Programs  
  Worcester, MA Programs  

  College Certificate Programs licensed to operate in Connecticut

  Bloomfield Programs  

  State-Supported Institutions

  University of Connecticut – Main Campus     Storrs Programs  
       Avery Point  
       Health Center  
       School of Law  

          Connecticut State Universities

       Central Connecticut State University New Britain Programs  
       Eastern Connecticut State University Willimantic Programs  
       Southern Connecticut State University New Haven Programs  
       Western Connecticut State University Danbury Programs  

          Connecticut Community Colleges

       Asnuntuck Community College Enfield Programs  
       Capital Community College Hartford Programs  
       Gateway Community College New Haven Programs  
       Housatonic Community College Bridgeport Programs  
       Manchester Community College Manchester Programs  
       Middlesex Community College Middletown Programs  
       Naugatuck Valley Community College Waterbury Programs  
       Northwestern Connecticut Community College Winsted Programs  
       Norwalk Community College Norwalk Programs  
       Quinebaug Valley Community College Danielson Programs  
       Three Rivers Community College Norwich Programs  
       Tunxis Community College Farmington Programs  
  New Britain Programs  

  Federally-Supported Institution 

  New London Programs  

  Institutions Participating in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

  A list of institutions participating in SARA is available here. Below are non-participating institutions
  that have registered to offer distance education degree programs in Connecticut.

  Out-of-State Institutions Registered in Connecticut to offer Online Instruction

  New York  
  New York  
  New Jersey  
  New York  
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 510, Hartford, CT  06103-1841, Phone:  860-947-1800
Home | Home | Send Feedback
State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy. Copyright 2002 - 2015 State of Connecticut logo